Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Going For Coffee”

Yoohoo everybody – only me!

I’ve got a little Flash Fiction/Shorty Story that I wrote the other day.

The prompt was “Starting Again” and the word count on the table was a microscopically tight 150 (excluding the title).

I really think my piece is quite romantic, steamy and even a little sinister too, with a twist of course.

Feel free to comment below and I’ll take you out for a virtual coffee (I’m British, so I’ll drink tea my dear and chase it down with a hot chocolate).

Bring muffins too, if you know what’s good for you.

A caffè macchiato. Double shot of espresso with a little foam by Jimpaz - WikiCommons

Going For Coffee by David Ellis

Falling in love is easy when the object of affection you pine for is both elegant and sophisticated but frequently lets you down.

It started innocently enough. You caught my eye in a shop window and I was instantly smitten. Who would have thought going for coffee would have brought us together in this way?

Things started getting racier when I brought you back to my home then into the bedroom. After screwing around for a while, I felt guilty, wishing we could start again because everything in our world is now upside down.

You’re just not right for me. It’s not you, it’s me. I’m sorry, I couldn’t handle you properly.

Things don’t always work out the way you intend them to, despite your best efforts.

Consider this the final nail in your coffin.

Now the tables have turned, all that I ask is that you rest in pieces.

4 Comments

Filed under Flash Fiction / Short Stories, Humour

4 responses to “Flash Fiction / Short Story – “Going For Coffee”

  1. Nice story mate. Very enjoyable read :)

  2. nofrillswrapping

    I’d eliminate the first four lines and start with something along the lines that you went for coffee on the go and raced home with two treats instead of one.

    • Thank you for reading and your comment :) – the first few lines are all there to sow the seeds that the object of affection may not be a person. Without them, there are less clues as to what is going on. I really enjoy the punchline at the end, as I’m sure DIY enthusiasts have experienced this many times too.

Leave a Reply

