NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Spontaneous Instincts”

Hey there buddies and bud…ladys.

As we enter Day 8 of NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month – Day 8), once again I began seeking inspiration, almost blindly at first but then I bumped into me muse (Ole Betsy).

She never tends to let me down (unless she’s been drinking, then I have to let her sleep it off or dance her tush off on tables and go a little crazy, in order to get the mojo working its magic properly).

Anyhoo, I’ve come up with another one, so feel free to comment below if you:-

a). Like it.
b). Dislike it (wrong answer) or;
3). You like big butts and you cannot lie (I would definitely recommend you comment, in the common interests of both posterity and mutual hilarity for my readers).

Hope you enjoy the latest instalment and keep smiling.

Ostrich in the crater by Chad Rosenthal from Jerusalem, Israel

“Spontaneous Instincts” by David Ellis

I am an ostrich feather
Riding naked in the breeze
Exposed to the raw elements
Yet ultimately free

I am a cow
Chewing the cud
Drifting into the abstract
At one with my thoughts

I am a macaw
Listening to what people say
I mimic and interpret
Putting on my own spin
In different ways

I am a pencil
Sharpening my wits
Making my mark
Proving that I exist

I am love
I can be blind
Inconsiderate at times
Sometimes I am all you have
Yet, sometimes I am all you need

With love comes hope
In each new day
If I am what I say I am
I can be anything to anyone
Truth is no longer a ruin
An inconvenient curse or a burden
I am compassion
And I’ve completed my mission

For more articles that should put a smile on your face, check out the links below:-

1. explicación | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
2. Prayer of a young soul II | Perspectives on life, universe and everything
3. DON’T BE TOO NIGERIAN; Nigerian identity crisis | She Writes
4. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | The Ambitious Drifter
5. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | christinamasterman
6. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile- Studies Report: what make us really happy in life | Journeyman
7. Family Outing from Hell: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
8. A Whiskey on the Rocks | Musings | The Wangsgard
9. The Match (Part 7) Shares | The Jittery Goat
10. F Is For Film | My Little Avalon
11. DP Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Sabethville
12. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
13. Here We Are, Entertain Us ! | Knowledge Addiction
14. The Power of Victory | the FLAVORED word
15. too much smiling gives you wrinkles | FamousFeline
16. smiling too much will give you wrinkles | FamousFeline
17. blend | yi-ching lin photography
18. love at first sight is | y
19. Broken Filipino: Returning to the Language of My Heart | Kosher Adobo
20. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Blissful Pages
21. Four Things that Make me Smile | Dragon Droppings
22. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Bob’s Blog-O-Rama
23. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
24. Aberystwyth 1976-77: Are YOU in either of these photos?! | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
25. begin the healing (tanka in three) | peacefulblessedstar
26. Daily Prompt: Hope it makes You SMILE! | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
27. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Sued51’s Blog
28. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | THE WRITE PLACE…
29. Day 144 | Tales of a Recovering Recoverer
30. You Make Me Smile | Triumphant Wings
31. Buster for Auntie Doris | The Zombies Ate My Brains
32. A Happy Song in a Minor Key | Vanessa Elliott
33. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | littlegirlstory
34. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile, 07.04.14 | Markie’s Daily Blog
35. Makes me smile. | This is my life…
36. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Tangled Up In Daydreams
37. Two characters and my sense of humour | Kate Murray
38. Do, Re, Mi… | marjanitalarosa
39. Daily Prompt – Make Me Smile | Serendipitous Cookery
40. Tangled Up in Blue . . . | meanderedwanderings
41. Make me Smile | Purplesus’ Blog
42. Happiness but | shame
43. A Happiness | In the Present
44. Smile | Rebecca Barray – Writer/Photographer
45. Make Me Smile | The Story of a Guy
46. DP: Make Me Smile | Transitions
47. Daily Prompt from WordPress: Smile maker – That’s My Answer
48. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | lifebeinggirly
49. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
50. Spring of Sakura | sejakduamenjak
51. Let It Go | wisskko’s blog
52. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | My Other Blog
53. Toilet’s Speak | A Simple Note
54. The Puerto Rican love of Dolphins and the Brazilian Myth of El Encantado « psychologistmimi
55. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Nostalgia | Shawn Daily
56. Daily prompt – Make me smile | myjourneyeveryday
57. To Banish Blues | Flowers and Breezes
58. Make me smile. | sereni-tea
59. it’s time for tea and meet the wife | eastelmhurst.a.go.go
60. Smile 🙂 | swiggityswag
61. Bring me some GLEE
62. They always make me smile | West Coast Review
63. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Diary of Dennis
64. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Wordy Wings
65. Make my day; let me make you laugh. | Emotional Fitness
66. Daily Prompt: Being Smiley! | All Things Cute and Beautiful
67. Make Me Smile | treasurethememory
68. Make Me Smile | Tonkadella’s Things in Life
69. Smiles | Life is great
70. Where does he get those wonderful toys? | Green Embers
71. Make Me Smile: Paris in the Rain | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
72. While we try to teach children all about life, children teach us what it is all about | SusannaAntihero
73. All Smiles | Love.Books.Coffee.
74. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile |”When You’re Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)” | undefined by design
75. Minutely Infinite | Festivities
76. The Handmade Hippie
77. Make Me Smile – (Daily Prompt) | Roving Bess
78. Aunt Scrooge needs her fix | The Salmon Yatra
79. Make me smile | That Montreal Girl
80. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | 365 Days of Thank You
81. My Kids Make Me Smile… Sometimes | The Bottom of a Bottle
82. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Fingerlike
83. Secret Sorrows | B.Kaotic
84. Selfless Love | anonim0us
85. Smiling (Daily Prompt Challenge) | Ana Linden
86. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | thechangingpalette
87. Who’s a Good Boy? | Daily Prompt | Cabin Pressure May Change
88. Nothing But Sunshine | A.C. Melody
89. a to z: f is for fifty smiles | meraki geek
90. Happiest day of her life | A picture is worth 1000 words
91. Ryan Padraig Kelly | Ryan Padraig Kelly
92. If Only It Were That Simple | My Author-itis
93. Mickey Memory. | Trucker Turning Write
94. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | jane sleeps here
95. Make Me Smile | manmadeoceans
96. Smiling is like a breath of fresh air | Barbara Pyett
97. 7 for Seven | VernetteOutLoud
98. Move Over “Toy Story…” Here’s Some Food For Thought! | Once Upon Your Prime. . .
99. Emoji+ Scenes From A Hat | Edward Hotspur
100. Music Monday – Joyful, Joyful | Life of a Minister Mom
101. Smile | zaphnathpaaneah
102. Spirit – Spiritless – Spiritual | Learning From Life
103. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Basically Beyond Basic
104. Another Photo! | Not Sweating The Small Stuff
105. Daily prompt: Or not… | helen meikle’s scribblefest
106. Daily Prompt: Make Me Smile | Christina Designs Art
107. Ode to my car | Writing on the Spot
108. Revenge | Boundaries and Edges
109. A clerihew dedicated to the Batch | Tinfinity and Beyond
110. Daily Prompt: Make me smile. | cockatooscreeching
111. Let your smile fly | Le Drake Noir
112. Smile: Daily Post | Destino
113. Top 5 things to make anyone smile!!! | Passionate Ambika
114. Perspective | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff

20 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “Spontaneous Instincts”

    • Thank you Angela 🙂 – I was inspired by the Canadian band The Tea Party, they make incredible music. Thank you so much for reading and look forward to reading your work, I enjoyed your reworked fairytale the other day blew me away, very clever twist!

  1. beautiful….being free to be who we are is something so many struggle with…sometimes life forces us to be something different from who we really are

    • What a lovely compliment – thank you for reading and so glad you enjoyed it! I’ve still got a few more days left of the challenge (another twenty – gulp!), so maybe there will be some more that you like coming up soon 🙂

      • WOW! You are writing a poem a day? That’s awesome. I don’t think I could ever squeeze so many of em outta my soul 😉
        And yes, I will keep checking for more.

      • It is a bit of a squeeze some days but thankfully the quality still seems to be of a high level and that’s what matters most to me. Thank you for your support, I sincerely appreciate it.

  2. Pingback: The Puerto Rican love of Dolphins and the Brazilian Myth of El Encantado « psychologistmimi

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.